為什麼亞洲人容易患糖尿病?


雖然體重較輕,美國亞裔比白人罹患糖尿病的機率較高,外移居美國的亞洲和太平洋島的人糖尿病患病率的快速增長已成為健康的挑戰。10%美國亞裔正受糖尿病影響,其中90~95%為第2型糖尿病,亞裔患第2型糖尿病機率較高與基因及環境影響都有關。有趣的是,住在美國的華人比住在中國本土者患糖尿病的機率更高;同樣地,住在美國的日本人其患病率也比住在日本者高,指出環境是一重要因素。另一方面,美國日裔的第二及第三代,一直在美國主流生活型態下成長,但其糖尿病發生率仍高於白人,顯示基因也是一項重要因素。
 
因為亞裔發生糖尿病者其體重通常比白人較為正常,有些人推論肥胖不是亞裔發生糖尿病的重要原因,但加斯林糖尿病中心亞裔臨床門診主任徐千田醫師 (William C. Hsu, MD) 指出, 亞裔族群更應小心注意體重,因為相對於他們種族的標準體重,即使輕微的超重,都可能使發生糖尿病的機會大為提升。查詢您的體重是否超重,請點選這裡
 
因為體重較輕,雖然研究正在進行,但相信與進食高脂肪和高熱量的西方飲食,體力活動減少,及亞洲人存在的糖尿病易感基因皆有關。美國亞裔糖尿病研進會(AADI) 正進行一項研究,以瞭解飲食對亞裔族群發展糖尿病的影響因素。

Why Do People of Asian Descent Get Diabetes?

Despite having lower body weight, Asian Americans are more likely than Caucasians to have diabetes. Diabetes is a rapidly growing health challenge among Asians and Pacific Islanders who have immigrated to the United States, affecting about 10 % of Asian Americans; about 90 to 95 % of Asians with diabetes have type 2 diabetes. The higher rate of type 2 diabetes in Asian descents results from a combination of genetic and environmental influences. Interestingly, the rate of diabetes in Chinese Americans is notably higher than the rate in the Chinese population living in rural China. Likewise, studies show that rates of diabetes are higher in Japanese Americans living in the U.S. compared to Japanese living in Japan, pointing to environment and lifestyle as an important contributing factor. On the other hand, second and third generation Japanese Americans, who are well acculturated in the mainstream American lifestyle, still have higher diabetes rates compared with Caucasians, suggesting a strong role of genetics in the development of diabetes. This complex interaction between genetics and lifestyle necessitates more extensive research.
Because Asian descents develop diabetes at a body weight considered "normal" by mainstream western standard, some have concluded that obesity is not an important cause for diabetes in Asian descents. On the contrary, according to Dr. William Hsu, Director of the Asian Clinic at Joslin, "Asian descents need to carefully guard their weight because their risk for developing diabetes rises sharply even with a small amount of weight gain above the target appropriate for their ethnicity". To determine if you are overweight, click here.
Although research is ongoing in this field, it is believed that consuming a western diet high in fat and calories, decreased physical activity and genetic makeup are all contributing factors to this serious epidemic in Asian American populations. The Asian American Diabetes Initiative is currently conducting a research study to determine the role of diet in the development of diabetes among Asian descents.